English Album: Heavenly - Carpe Diem

CrimsonRain.Com English Album: Heavenly - Carpe Diem專輯名稱:權宜之計
製作發行:AFM Records
專輯曲風:Heavy Metal


With 2006's "Virus," Heavenly appeared to be a band on the verge of shedding some of the more hackneyed elements associated with speed, power, and/or Euro metal bands. That being said, it's obvious to anyone that Heavenly's music will never evolve to a point where it will be free from such perceptions, but it goes without saying eliminating some of them is a step in the right direction.

In this respect, "Carpe Diem" isn't a step backwards, but the same cannot be said when it comes to overall creativity. While nothing here sounds as dated as "Bravery in the Field" and "The Power & Fury" did on "Virus," some songs ("Farewell" and "Ashen Paradise") channel the sound heard on previous albums like 2003's "Dust to Dust." "Ashen Paradise" even starts out with the lyrics "Master now we wonder..." which, if you know anything about the story behind "Dust to Dust" immediately makes you reflect on it. Add to this some very odd, yet surprisingly solid moments like "A Better Me" where the band churns out something I'd expect to hear on a Queen album and it's easy to see some of the songs are at odds with one another stylistically even though some of them flow into each other quite well.

One of the underlying factors that seems to effect Heavenly's music is the lyrics - but it's not really the lyrics as a whole as much as word choice. Perhaps more than any band I can think of, the band's singer and primary song writer Ben Sotto appears to favor certain words/phrases (like "carry on") very heavily. This isn't saying the lyrics are stale, but it often times gives the impression that his English vocabulary is limited, or more limited than his contemporaries. This isn't meant to be an insult, and what ever the cause it is forgivable given that English is obviously his second language, but it's certainly an aspect to note when examining Heavenly's music.

Everything said and done, Carpe Diem is a solid outing with tracks like "Fullmoon" and "A Better Me" offering something new, at least to the band's catalog. Still, I'm glad I'm went with the download rather than buying the physical product even though the peculiar hotness portrayed on the cover made it somewhat tempting. Also, it's nice to see the band has finally settled on a style for their name.


01. Carpe Diem
02. Lost in Your Eyes
03. Farewell
04. Fullmoon
05. A Better me
06. Ashen Paradise
07. The Face of Truth
08. Ode to Joy
09. Save our Souls

POST byNichole at 11:53

2 Comments: Subscribe This Comments(Atom)

Stephy said... 12/28/2009 11:56:00 AM


Anonymous said... 12/28/2009 12:56:00 PM


Random Related Topic Refresh Related Topic
Random Related Topic Loading...